European Union of Supported Employment


The European Union of Supported Employment (EUSE) was established in 1993 to facilitate the development of Supported Employment throughout Europe. Supported Employment assists people with significant disabilities (physical, intellectual, psychiatric, sensory and hidden) to access real employment opportunities, of their own choice, in an integrated setting with appropriate ongoing support to become economically and socially active in their own communities.

EUSE works to achieve this through the promotion of the Supported Employment model, the exchange of information and knowledge on good practice in Supported Employment and the development of model services. EUSE provides a platform for networking with other organisations and associations at European and worldwide level.

EUSE Structure/EUSE Council

The Council comprises 2 representatives from each member nation. The Council appoints the President and 4 Vice-Presidents and each nation can have only 1 representative office bearer. Each nation has the right to cast one vote.

The Council meets at least three times between designated General Meetings and/or whenever the President or 40% of other Council members deems or deem such meetings desirable.

The EUSE Office Bearers for 2011 - 2013 are:


  • Margaret Haddock (Northern Ireland)

Vice Presidents:

  • Bertil Johansson (Sweden)
  • Robert Elston (England)
  • Fernando Bellver (Spain)